After more than a month of completion of the season, The Azam Uganda Premier League (UPL) 2015-16 season technical report has finally been released.Forfeited and abandoned matches

In comparison to the season before, this was a more successful season in terms of petitions in regard to players and matches.

In the 2014-15, a total of 13 matches were decided in the boardroom; 7 were forfeited, 4 abandoned while 3 were not physically played while there was none of this in the 2015-16 campaign.

Only one match was washed out and that was due to heavy downpour and was replayed for only the minutes not played before – Sports Club Victoria University Vs JMC Hippos Football


A total of eleven (11) stadiums were used in the 2015-16 season in comparison to the thirteen (13) used the season before.

The 11 Stadiums in 2015-16: Bombo Barracks Grounds, Bugembe and Kakindu stadiums in Jinja, Mehta Stadium in Lugazi, Kavumba Recreational Centre, Buikwe, Namboole, Nakivubo, Wankulukuku, Luzira Prisons Grounds and Champions Stadium – Matugga.

The 13 stadiums in 2014-15: Bombo Barracks Grounds, Bugembe and Kakindu in Jinja, Mehta Grounds, Lugazi, Kavumba RC, Buikwe, Namboole, Lugogo, Nakivubo, Mityana, Wankulukuku, Entebbe Fisheries Grounds, Bugonga and Matugga Champions Stadium.

The 2015/16 season kicked off on Saturday 22nd August 2015 and ended on Friday 27th May 2016.


The 2015-16 season saw 610 bookings, 70 less than what was witnessed in 2014-15. URA topped the Yellow Card standings with 53 last season whilst Rwenshama collected a total of 61 the campaign before.

There were 33 Red Cards in 2015-16 as compared to 36 in 2014-15 with Lweza (5) and Rwenshama (6) topping the log respectively.


The 2015-16 campaign saw a decrease in goals by one as 488 were scored; one less than what was scored in 2014-15.

URA (47) were the highest the scoring side last season while SC Villa (50) scored the most goals in 2014-15.

A total of nine (9) own goals were witnessed in 2015-16 with URA getting the most (3) while there were eight (8) own goals in 2014-15 with Kira Young topping with three (3).

2015-2016 season had 2 Hat-tricks by Patrick Gonahasa of Simba FC and Erisa

Sekisambu Vipers SC and there were 34 Braces while 2014-15 had (3) Three Hat-tricks (Sentongo Robert, Feni Ali (URA) & Ndugwa Karim (SC Villa) and 31 Braces.

First Goal of the season in 2015-16 came in the 23rd minute scored by Joseph Ochaya (KCCA against Sadolin Paints) at Bugembe while last goal of the season was scored by Feni Ali of URA against SC Victoria University after 90 minutes.

Patrick Asiku Crespo scored the fastest goal of the season as early as the first minute while Ezekiel Katende of Simba netted after 47 seconds in 2014-15.


KCCA won the title in 2015-16 with 57 points, twelve (12) less than what Vipers- champions in 2014-15 garnered.

Maroons collected the least points (16) in 2015-16 but still had one more than Entebbe who managed the least in 2014-15.

Televised Matches

A total of 44 matches were televised by Azam TV in 2015-16 with Vipers (10) having the most and Soana (2) shown the least.

In 2014-15, sixteen (16) matches were televised with SC Villa and Vipers (4) having the most and Police (0) the least.

Note: Azam only signed with the league at the start of the second round n 2014-15.


The longest winless run in 2015-16 went to Maroons (13), six (6) less than what Rwenshama (19) posted in 2014-15.

Vipers had the longest winning streak (13) in 2014-16 while Sadolin Paints won the most successive games (5) in 2014-15, a drop by over eight.

Vipers (18) kept the most cleans sheets in 2014-15, two (2) better than what was managed by 2015-16’s best; Vipers and Sadolin Paints.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *