KCCA utility player Joseph Ochaya is the 2015-17 Azam Uganda Premier League (UPL) Most Valuable Player.

Ochaya was announced winner at a glamorous awards ceremony held at Serena Hotel, Kampala on Friday evening.

The left fullback beat Vipers’ Erisa Ssekisambu and URA’s Robert Ssentongo to the gong and drove home in a new SUBARU Forester.

“I think I deserved it,” a smiling Ochaya said immediately after he received the car keys from Chief Guest, Maj. Gen Muhoozi Kainerugaba. “I thank my family, teammates, coaches and fans that made this happen because it wasn’t an easy season,” he added.

The Ugandan international, who scored seven league goals for the club also had kind words for his haters.

“And finally have to thank my haters. You make me work hard and keep me pushing for greater heights.”

On a day of dominance from champions KCCA, Mike Mutebi beat Soana’s Charles Ayiekoh Lukula and The Saints’ Moses Basena to the best Coach of the Year gong and thus walked away with a flat TV Screen courtesy of Konka.

KCCA’s Chief Executive Officer, David Tamale was awarded as best CEO while Muzamiru Mutyaba won the Midfielder of the Year award.

He beat Ibrahim Kayiwa who crossed to Vipers from Express and JMC Hippos’ Richard Wandyaka to the gong.

Vipers’ Halid Lwaliwa lost the Defender of the Year award to veteran Musa Walangalira of Sadolin Paints but went home with the upcoming player of the season gong.

In this category, he beat Sadolin Paints’ goalie Mathias Muwanga, also goalkeeper of the season and now teammate Musa Esenu.

Surprisingly, Musa Esenu won the Fans’ Player of the Season while Robert Ssentongo, in absentia took the golden boot for finishing as the Top Scorer with 18 goals.

His accolade was picked by URA Chairman Ali Sekatawa, who also received Simeon Masaba’s award for being the longest serving player in the league.

The two were absent at the awards with Ssentongo on trials in Lebanon while Masaba is with URA in Tanzania for pre-season preparations.

Former FSL Chairman and Headmaster of Kololo SS and Kibuli, Hajji Abbas Kawaase was given the Life Time Achievers’ award.

Centre referee Brian Nsubuga was awarded as the best referee beating assistants Mark Ssonko and Okello Lee.

SC Villa’s Martin Kizza won the gong the Most Exciting Player from last season.


Urban TV’s Clive Kyazze won the Best TV Journalist award, Daily Monitor’s Elvis Ssenono took home the Best Journalist in Print Section, Radio Supientia’s Martin Kaddu won the  Radio category while Ismael Kiyonga of Kawowo Sports and John Batanudde of Redpepper won online and Photography category respectively.

Besides Muhoozi, the occasion was graced by among others FUFA President, Moses Magogo, UPL Club Chairmen, Azam MD Simon Arinaitwe and members of Parliament.

2016 Uganda Premier Awards, Friday, August 12, 2016

Footballer of the Season (MVP): Joseph Ochaya (KCCA)

Goalkeeper of the Season: Mathias Muwanga (Sadolin Paints)

Defender of the Season:  Musa Walangalira (JMC Hippos)

Midfielder of the Season: Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA)

Top Scorer: Robert Ssentongo (URA) – 18 goals

Coach of the Season: Mike Mutebi (KCCA)

Goalkeeping coach of the Season:  Kenneth Magada (Sadolin Paints)

Young Player of the Season: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Life Time Achievers Award: Hajji Abbasi Kawaase

Longest Serving player of the League, Fan of the Season: Simeon Masaba

Best Referee: Brian Nsubuga

Fans’ Player of the Year: Musa Esenu

Best Chief Executive Officer (CEO): David Tamale (KCCA)

Best Sports Journalists:

Television – Clive Kyazze (Urban TV)

Radio – Martin Kaddu (Supientia)

Photography – John Batanudde (Redpepper)

Print – Elvis Ssenono (Daily Monitor)

Online – Ismael Kiyonga (Kawowo Sports)

Team of the Season

Mathis Muwanga (Sadolin Paints),  Denis Okot Oola (KCCA), Joseph Ochaya (KCCA), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Musa Walangalira (JMC Hippos), Ibrahim Kayiwa (Express), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA), Richard Wandyaka (JMC Hippos), Vincent Kayizzi (Express), Robert Ssentongo (URA) and Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers)

Coach: Mike Ray Mutebi (KCCA)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *