2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers (Group D):

1st Leg: 31st August 2017:

Uganda Vs Egypt – Namboole, Kampala

2nd Leg: 6th September 2017

Egypt Vs Uganda Cranes – Alexandria

William Luwagga Kizito has been named part of the Uganda Cranes 27-man squad for the FIFA 2018 World Cup qualifiers against Egypt.

The midfielder swore never to play for the national team again with Mulitin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic still in charge and thus missed the 2019 Afcon qualifier against Cape Verde.

With Micho leaving for Orlando Pirates, his former assistant Moses Basena has recalled the Romanian based attacking midfielder who fell out with the Serb at the 2017 Afcon tournament in Gabon.

Basena didn’t not hesitate to reveal the reason for summoning the former Bunamwaya midfielder.

As a Christian, forgiveness is always key as preached by Jesus Christ. He (Jesus Christ) always associated with sinners. Luwagga sinned and acknowledged. He sought for forgiveness.

Also back in the team is defender Isaac Isinde whose mistake in the 1-0 loss to Ghana in Gabon appeared to have ended his national football career.

From the Azam Uganda Premier League (AUPL), a dozen players were summoned with KCCA and Vipers the most dominant sides.

Uganda host the record African champions at Namboole on Thursday August 31 before playing away on September 5 in Alexandria.

The Squad.

Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Robert Odongkara (St George, Ethiopia), Ismail Watenga (Vipers), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA)

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Vipers), Isaac Muleme (KCCA), Timothy Dennis Awany (KCCA), Murushid Juuko (Simba, Tanzania), Bernard Muwanga (SC Villa Jogoo), Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Dennis Iguma (Al Ahed, Lebanon), Paul Musamali (KCCA), Isaac Isinde (Buildcon, Zambia)

Midfielders: William Luwagga Kizito (CSM Politehnica Iași, Romania), Aucho Khalid (Unattached), Geofrey ‘Baba’ Kizito (Than Quảng Ninh, Vietnam), Ivan Ntege (Township Rollers, Botswana), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA), Moses Waiswa (Vipers), Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Wasswa Hassan Mawanda (Njimeh Lebanon), Joseph Ochaya (Lusaka Dynamos, Zambia)

Strikers: Derrick Nsibambi (KCCA), Geofrey Sserunkuma (Buildcon, Zambia), Emmanuel Okwi (Simba, Tanzania), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Faruku Miya (Standard Liege, Belgium)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *