2016 Uganda Cup final

Vipers SC 3-1 Onduparaka

Vipers SC won their first ever Uganda Cup title after overcoming newly-promoted Uganda Premier League (UPL) side, Onduparaka, 3-1 in a match played on a wet Nakivubo Stadium turf on Saturday.

Pius Wangi netted a brace for Vipers while with Erisa Ssekisambu grabbed his seventh of the competition in a game watched by several thousands of fans – mainly Onduparaka’s, who filled the main kurussia to the rafters.

Gaddafi Wahab scored Onduparaka’s consolation from an expertly taken free kick in the first half.

Having fallen short in the 2012 and 2013 Uganda Cup finals, there was no putting a foot wrong for coach George ‘Best’ Nsimbe’s Vipers against a side that defied odds to make the final.

Both sides started the game with intent, Arua-based Onduparaka nearly taking the lead when Wahab picked out Muhammad Shaban with a pin-point pass but the seven-goal striker could only miss the target by inches.

Vipers attacked the other end, Ssekisambu hurrying Onduparaka defender Toha Rashid into ceding possession inside the penalty area before the former SC Villa striker buried the ball into the low corner for a 1-0 lead on 14 minutes.

The two-time league winners doubled their advantage on 28 minutes, Ssekisambu setting for Wangi to tap home from close range.

Onduparaka never stopped trying. The West Nile outfit, who ejected the last year’s Uganda Cup winners, Villa, in the round of 32, pulled one back when Wahab beat Ismail Watenga in Vipers goal with a well-taken free kick some 30 yards from goal.

But Vipers’ Wanji went on to complete his brace on the hour, thumping home a half-hearted clearance by the Onduparaka defence.

Shaban could have reduced the deficit to 3-2 but his effort after he rounded goalkeeper Watenga could only crush off the post.

Vipers XI

Isma Watenga, Nicholas Wadada, Dan Bilikwalira,Halid Lwaliwa, Shafik Bakaki, Deus Bukenya, Sentamu Ssiraje, Erisa Ssekisambu,Pius Wangi, Mike Mutyaba

Onduparaka XI

Nathan Ajab, Alex Gasper, Dennis Andama, Toha Rashid, Ibrahim Faizil, Simba Sabir, Toto Ajobe, Gadaffi Gadinho, Gaddafi Wahab, Olega Ceasar, Shaban Muhammed


Presidential Award: Honorary FUFA President Lawrence Mulindwa

Fair Player award: Onduparaka FC Medical team

Top Scorer: Muhammed Shaban (7 Goals) – Onduparaka FC

MVP – Erisa Ssekisambu- (Vipers SC)

Best Goalkeeper: Ismail Watenga (Vipers SC)

Best Coach: George Nsimbe (Vipers SC)


Online-Isabirye David (Kawowo.com)

TV-Harunah Nyombi (Bukedde TV)

Radio-Abu Zikusooka (Star FM)

Print-Elvis Senono (Daily Monitor)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *