The 2023/24 season’s finest will be awarded tonight at the Sheraton Hotel, Kampala.

From the most valuable player to the fair play team of the season, the event will be attended with all the big wigs in the game of football.

SC Villa duo of Ronald Ssekiganda and Patrick Jonah Kakande who guide the Jogoos to league triumph after 20-years are in the running for the Player of the season award alongside Denis Omedi of Kitara, KCCA’s Muhammad Shaban and Ronald Otti of BUL.

Ssekiganda is also in the running for the best midfielder of the season where he faces off with KCCA’s Joel Sserunjogi and Maroons’ Abraham Tusubira.

Kakande is another player with multiple nominations as he faces KCCA’s Usama Arafat and Wakiso Giants young forward Kenneth Kimera for young player of the season award.

Like Kakande and Ssekiganda who are for the MVP award, Otti also has another chance for an award as he battles SC Villa title winning captain Kenneth Ssemakula and NEC’s South Sudan international Joseph Dhata to the best defender’s gong.

Goalkeeper Tom Ikara managed the most clean sheets in the campaign, 12 but for the best season goalkeeper award, he faces tight competition from Crispus Kusiima (Kitara) and Hannington Ssebwalunyo of Maroons.

SC Villa Serbian tactician Dusan Stojanovic who won the Jogoos the elusive 17th league crown faces KCCA’s Abdallah Mubiru, who garnered most points of any coach since his appointment and Brian Ssenyondo of Kitara for the coach of the season.  

The public has been involved to about 40% in the determination of the winners and the experts panel including coaches, captains and selected football journalists carrying 60% of the vote.

There are also awards for the best XI of the season, scorer of the best goal, players’ player of the season, coaches’ player of the season, fair play team of the season as well as platinum award.

Player of the season (MVP): Patrick Kakande (SC Villa), Muhammad Shaban (KCCA), Ronald Otti (BUL), Ronald Ssekiganda (SC Villa) and Denis Omedi (Kitara)

Top scorer (Golden Boot winner): Muhammad Shaban (KCCA) 17 goals

Golden Glove winner: Tom Ikara (BUL FC)

Defender of the season: Ronald Otti (BUL), Kenneth Ssemakula (SC Villa) and Joseph Dhata (NEC FC)

Young Player of the Season (U-21): Patrick Kakande (SC Villa), Usama Arafat (KCCA) and Kenneth Kimera (Wakiso Giants)

Coach of the season: Brian Ssenyondo (Kitara), Dusan Stojanovic (SC Villa) and Abdallah Mubiru (KCCA)

Midfielder of the Season: Ronald Ssekiganda (SC Villa), Joel Sserunjogi (KCCA) and Abraham Tusubira (Maroons)

Top assists: Abraham Tusubira (Maroons – 10 assists)

Other wards

Platinum Award (To be decided by UPL Board)

Players’ Player of the Season (Club Captains)

Coaches’ Player of the Season (Head Coaches)

Best XI of the Season

Fair Play Team of the Season

Goal of the season