22 UPL players summoned to Cranes camp

Uganda Cranes head coach Johnny McKinstry has kept true to his word and given StarTimes Uganda Premier League (SUPL) players a chance to prove themselves.

McKinstry said at the weekend that while he named 20 foreign-based players to his Cranes to team to face South Sudan in the 2022 Afcon qualifiers, he still had home based players in his plans.

Now, on Tuesday, the Northern Irishman named 22 local-based players from which at least five would be picked and added to the earlier 20-man squad of professionals named last week.

McKinstry confirmed that the team will undergo rigorous assessment between 2nd and 8th November 2020 before the final selection is made.

“We would be looking to adding 5 or 6 Uganda Premier League players to the mix so that they can compete for places in the squad,” said McKinstry on the Fufa website.

“In order to give the local based players the best support, we will be running an advance camp between 2nd and 8th November,” he added.

“In addition to that, we shall be able to have some early arrivals of foreign based players to join this camp in Kampala.

“The camp will also help the local based players to push their levels higher and hopefully get some minutes on the field against South Sudan.”

Express and KCCA defenders Murushid Juuko and Denis Iguma, plus Police midfielder Tony Mawejje are some of the returnees that have been out of the team for some time now.

Uganda will take on South Sudan on 12th November at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende with kick off set for 4pm before facing off again four days later in Nairobi.

The local based Squad

Goalkeepers: Alionzi Nafian (URA FC), Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Mutakubwa Joel (Kyetume FC)

Defenders: Ndahiro Derrick (Sc Villa), Galiwango Disan (Vipers SC), Willa Paul (Vipers SC), Mandela Ashraf (URA), Iguma Denis (KCCA FC), Kato Samuel ( (KCCA FC), Juuko Murushid (Express FC), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC), Mbowa Patrick ( URA FC)

Midfielders: Mawejje Tony (Police FC), Kyeyune Saidi (URA FC), Kagimu Shafiq (URA FC), Watambala Kairm (Vipers SC), Owori David ( Sc Villa), Anukani Bright (KCCA FC)

Forwards: Oriti Ibrahim (Vipers Sc), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC), Mukwala Stephen (URA FC), Ahebwa Brian (KCCA FC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.