In a bid to qualify for the first ever FIFA World Cup, Uganda will have to battle giants Ghana and Egypt for a slot in the qualification campaign for Russia 2018.

The Cranes, who eliminated 2006 finalists Togo in the previous round will also renew acquaintances with Congo Brazzaville who they faced in the 2013 AFCON qualifiers.

Congo lost 4-0 in Kampala although they had won 3-1 in the first leg in Pointre Noire and revenge will be on card for either.

For Ghana, the last meeting was as recent as the 2015 AFCON qualifiers when Uganda won 1-0 at home and held the Black Stars 1-1 in Kumasi.

Besides Congo and Uganda, the rest of the teams in the group have played at the FIFA World Cup finals before.

The campaign starts in October with the Cranes starting away against Ghana.

The winner of the group will automatically qualify for the World’s biggest soccer bonanza in Russia.

Group A: Tunisia, DR Congo, Libya & Guinea

Group B: Zambia, Cameroon, Nigeria & Algeria

Group C: Gabon, Mali, Ivory Coast & Morocco

Group D: Senegal, South Africa, Burkina Faso & Cape Verde

Group E: Uganda, Ghana, Egypt & Congo Brazzaville

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *