Four senior players left out of Vipers Kagame Cup squad

Uganda’s CECAFA Kagame Cup representatives Vipers SC will have to do with at least four senior players in the forthcoming tournament slated to kickoff later this week.

The Venoms left the country on Wednesday for the regional ‘annual’ competition minus goalkeeper Ismail Watenga, defender Halid Lwaliwa and midfielders Tom Masiko and Moses Waiswa.

No reasons where advanced for leaving the quartet home as Jorge Miguel Da Costa named a 20-man team.

New signings Fred Okot, Bashir Sekagya, Ibrahim Kiyemba and Rahmat Ssenfuka make the team that has also former U-17 goalkeeper as back up to Sekagya.

Vipers are in group A that has Tanzania’s Azam, Zanzibar’s JKU and South Sudan’s Kator.

Their maiden appearance at the competition was in 2011 when they lost 2-1 to eventual winners Simba in the quarter finals.

The Squad:

Goalkeepers: Bashir Sekagya and Eric Kibowa,

Defenders: Geoffrey Wasswa, Fred Okot, Bashir Asiku, Aggrey Madoi, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Yayo Lutimba and Ashraf Mandela.

Midfielders: Taddeo Lwanga, Brian Nkuubi, Frank Tumwesigye, Rahmat Senfuka, Duncan Sseninde and David Owori,

Forwards: Pius Wangi, Dan Sserunkuma, Brian Kalumba, Steven Mukwala and Milton Karisa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.