All is set for the highly anticipated Uganda Premier League (UPL) awards.

D-day is Friday August 12 at Serena Hotel, Kampala, Victoria Hall with Special Forces Commander, Major Gen Muhoozi Kainerugaba expected to be the Chief Guest.

This was confirmed by the UPL Board Chairman Arinaitwe Rugyendo in a tweet on Thursday afternoon.

“The #SFC Commander, Maj. Gen @mkainerugaba, will preside over the @UPL Awards at K’la Serena tomorrow. Let’s support UG football @TheLoveDre

Who will drive away in a Forester?

Either of Vipers’ Erisa Ssekisambu, URA’s Robert Ssentongo or KCCA’s Joseph Ochaya will drive home in a SUBARU FORESTER for being the Most Valuable Player in the Season.

The trio has divided opinions amongst fans and the awards committee is supposedly in a very tight situation.

Ssentongo finished the season as the golden boot winner with 18 goals, Ssekisambu’s 16 goals guided Vipers to second on the log whilst Ochaya netted seven goals enroute to helping KCCA lift an eleventh championship.

In other categories, Mike Mutebi who guided KCCA to league triumph battles Soana’s Charles Ayiekoh Lukula and The Saints’ Moses Basena for the Coach of the Year while Musa Esenu, who has joined Vipers from Soana is up against Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers) and Mathias Muwanga for the upcoming player of the season.

The Coach of the Year goes home with a Flat Screen TV while the young player walks away with a Smart Mobile Phone courtesy of Konka.

Also to be awarded is the midfielder of year, goalie of the Season as well the Goalkeeping Coach plus Defender of the season.

There are also awards for the Best Journalists (Print, Radio, Television, Photography and Online), Life Time Achievers award and Best Referee among others.

2016 Uganda Premier Awards, Friday, August 12, 2016

Footballer of the Season (MVP): Joseph Ochaya (KCCA), Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers), Robert Ssentongo (URA)

Goalkeeper of the Season: Mathias Muwanga (Sadolin Paints), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA) & Ismail Watenga (Vipers)

Defender of the Season: Joseph Ochaya (KCCA), Musa Walangalira (JMC Hippos) & Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Midfielder of the Season: Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA), Richard Wandyaka (JMC Hippos) & Ibrahim Kayiwa (Express)

Top Scorer: Robert Ssentongo (URA) – 18 goals

Coach of the Season: Mike Mutebi (KCCA), Charles Ayiekoh Lukula (Soana) & Moses Basena (The Saints)

Goalkeeping coach of the Season: Steven Kiggundu Billy (Vipers), Moses Oloya (The Saints) & Kenneth Magada (Sadolin Paints)

Young Player of the Season: Mathias Muwanga (Sadolin Paints), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers) & Musa Esenu (Soana)

Life Time Achievers Award: Longest Serving player of the League, Fan of the Season (Committee to decide)

Best Referee (To be determined by the FUFA Referees Standing Committee)

Fans’ Player of the Year (To be determined by fans through platforms declared by the league organizers – Type Key Word UPL Space Name of Player and send to 8888 Via SMS)

Best Chief Executive Officer (CEO) – To be selected from the one of the 16 UPL Clubs by the Secretariat

Best Sports Journalists (Television, Radio, Photography, Print, Online) – To be selected by the Awards Committee

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *