Tuesday October 4, 2016

International Friendly

Togo Vs Uganda – Stade de Kegue

Friday October 7, 2016

2018 FIFA 2018 World Cup qualifiers

Ghana Vs Uganda – Tamale Sports Stadium

Uganda Cranes Coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic has named 13 players from Azam Uganda Premier League (UPL) in his squad to face Togo and Ghana.

The Cranes take on Togo in an international friendly on Tuesday 4 at the Stade de Kegue before opening their FIFA 2018 World Cup qualifier against Ghana three days later at Tamale Sports stadium.

Nicholas Wadada and Joseph Ochaya who play for Vipers and KCCA respectively lead the local contingent that also includes two goalkeepers – Ismail Watenga (Vipers) and Benjamin Ochan (KCCA).

Others are defenders Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Timothy Awany (KCCA), Rashid Toha (Vipers) and Joseph Nsubuga (SC Villa).

In the midfield department, KCCA’s Ivan Ntege and SC Villa’s sensational midfielder Abdulmalick Vitalis Tabu are named while Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers), Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka) and Proline’s Edirisa Lubega also made the cut.

From the foreign based players, Mike Azira who plays in US with Colorado Rapids, Hamis ‘Diego’ Kiiza (Free State Stars, South Africa) and Vietnam based Geoffrey ‘Baba’ Kizito return to the team after being left out for the final 2017 AFCON qualifier against Comoros.

Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, who was part of the team that played in the 1-0 win over Comoros, is omitted from the squad and so is Robert Odongkara who Micho dropped since the last game.

Uganda Cranes team:

Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Salim Jamal (El Merriekh, Sudan), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA, Uganda), Ismail Watenga (Vipers, Uganda)

Defenders: Nicholas Wadada (Vipers, Uganda), Dennis Iguma (Al Ahed, Lebanon), Joseph Nsubuga (SC Villa, Uganda),  Isaac Isinde, Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Uganda), Rashid Toha (Onduparaka, Uganda), Timothy Awany (KCCA, Uganda), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers, Uganda), Joseph Ochaya (KCCA, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia, Kenya)

Midfielders: Mike Azira (Colorado Rapids, Uganda), Geofrey ‘Baba’ Kizito (Than Quảng Ninh, Vietnam), Aucho Khalid (Baroka, South Africa), Ivan Ntege (KCCA, Uganda), Moses Oloya (Kuban Krasnodar, Russia), Tonny Mawejje (Knattspyrnufélagið Þróttur, Iceland), William Luwagga Kizito (Rio Ave, Portugal), Abdulmalick Vitalis Tabu (SC Villa, Uganda)

Strikers: Hamis ‘Diego’ Kizza (Free State Stars, Uganda), Geofrey Massa (Baroka, South Africa), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Sonderjsyke, Denmark), Yunus Sentamu (Ilves, Finland), Farouk Miya (Standard Liege, Denmark), Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers, Uganda), Muhammed Shaban (Onduparaka, Uganda), Edrisa Lubega (Proline, Uganda)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *