Vipers Sports Club Moses Waiswa was crowned as the best footballer of 2018 at the Fufa Awards Ceremony held at Speke Resort Munyonyo on Friday night.

Waiswa beat KCCA’s Allan Okello and Onduparaka’s Vianney Sekajugo to clinch the award that was previously won by Farouk Miya, Muhammad Shaban and Muzamiru Mutyaba.

In his acceptance speech, the midfielder who also features for the Cranes was thankful for recognition.

“I thank FUFA for organising such good awards. I have worked hard for it all year round and I am ready for new challenges,” he said. “I appreciate the effort of my teammates at Vipers and on the National team as well as the nominees and winners,” he added.

Waiswa helped Vipers win the league title and also reach the finals of the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

He was also part of the 2018 Chan team in Morocco and featured in Cranes games for the 2019 Afcon qualifiers.

Summary of selected Winners

Moses Waiswa (MVP)

Brian Miiro Nsubuga (Referee of the year)

Shamirah Nabukenya (Upcoming referee of year)

Maroons Football Club (Airtel FUFA Fair play of the year-30 yellow cards, 1 red card)

Allan Okello (Airtel FUFA fans’ favourite player of the year based in Uganda)

Khassim Kyazze (fan of the year)

Mustafa Kizza (Most Promising Player)

The Airtel FUFA Best XI:

Samson Kirya (SC Villa), Paul Willa (Police), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Timothy Denis Awany (KCCA), Henry Katongole (Vipers), Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA), Moses Waiswa (Vipers), Allan Okello (KCCA), Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma (Vipers), Nelson Senkatuka (Bright Stars) and Viane Sekajugo (Onduparaka).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *