New categories added on 2019 Airtel Fufa Awards

When: Saturday, December 14

Where: Speke Resort Munyonyo, Kampala (Live on 102.1 Fufa FM and All Official Fufa social media platforms

The Airtel Fufa Awards for the year 2019 were officially launched at Serena Hotel in Kampala on Wednesday with organisers announcing new categories.

Several top performers in the StarTimes Uganda Uganda Premier League (SUPL) dominate the different categories.

Best XI 2019 (Women), Women Football Coach of the Year, Best Squad (Club/National Team) of a particular Year, Fufa Member Associations’ Award and the Team Fans of the Year (Fufa Competitions) are the new categories.

This year’s awards shall be held on Saturday, December 14, 2019 at Speke Resort Munyonyo under the theme “Celebrating Uganda’s footballers”.

The launch at Serena was attended by the Acting Fufa President Justus Mugisha, Fufa Executive Committee members, sponsors and partners.

Airtel Uganda Limited, the main sponsors of the awards, offered Shs100m. Bet Lion, Nile Breweries Limited,  Bidco Uganda Limited, Pepsi, NIC Holdings Limited and Eco Bank are the co-sponsors.

“In 2013, we thought we could take Uganda’s football higher,” said acting Fufa president Mugisha, “We presented our manifesto and it was accepted by the stake holders who endorsed it.

“In 2014, we transformed the manifesto into a five-year strategic plan with the vision of being the number one footballing country on and off the pitch.

“We sold the idea to sponsors and partners in 2015 and the awards are now a permanent fixture on the Fufa activity calendar. I thank our sponsors and partners for coming together with us to work with us.”

According to Rogers Byamukama, the Fufa Executive Committee member and Chairperson Airtel Fufa Awards Committee, “There will be two rounds of voting and three categories of voters including coaches, captains and fans.”



Nominees for Airtel Fufa Male Player of the Year 2019

Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Mike Mutyaba (KCCA), Viane Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Daniel Sserunkuma (Vipers), Allan Okello (KCCA), Paul Mucureezi (Mbarara City), Deogratious Ojok (BUL), Bright Anukani (Proline), Hillary Mukundane (Mbarara City), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers), Ivan Bogere (Proline)

Nominees for Airtel Fufa Team Fans of the Year 2019

SC Villa, Onduparaka, KCCA, Tooro United, West Nile Province, Acholi Province Fans, Lango Province Fans, Bunyoro Province Fans

Nominees for Airtel – Fufa Female player of the Year, 2019

Juliet Nalukenge (Kawempe Muslim), Fauzia Najjemba (Isra Soccer Academy), Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves), Lillian Mutuuzo (Kampala Queens), Hasifah Nassuna (UCU Lady Cardinals), Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals), Leticia Nabbosa (Lady Doves), Margaret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim), Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs), Amina Nababi (Makerere University), Shamirah Nalujja (Isra Soccer Academy), Maureen Kinavudori (UCU Lady Cardinal


Full List of the 2019 Airtel Fufa Awards Catergories:

1 – Airtel – Fufa Male Player of the Year 2019

2 – Airtel – Fufa Female Player of the Year 2019

3 – Airtel – Fufa Best XI 2019 (Men)

4 – Airtel – Fufa Best XI 2019 (Women) – New

5 – Airtel – Fufa Coach of the Year 2019

6 – Airtel – Fufa Women Football Coach of the Year – New

7 – Fufa Presidential Award

8 – Airtel – Fufa Fair Play Award 2019 (UPL)

9 – Airtel – Fufa Upcoming Talent Award 2019 (FJL)

10 – Airtel – Fufa Beach Soccer Player of the Year

11 – Airtel – Fufa Fans’ Favorite Uganda foreign based Player

12 – Best Squad (Club/National Team) of a particular Year – New

13 – Fufa Member Associations’ Award – New

14 – Team Fans of the Year (Fufa Competitions) – New

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.