KCCA (Uganda) 1-0 Al Masry (Egypt)

Second leg

Saturday April 15, 2017

Al Masry Vs KCCA – Port Said

KCCA scored in the second last minute of stoppage time through Derrick Nsibambi to beat Egypt’s El Masry 1-0 in the first leg of the CAF Confederation Cup play off.Derrick Nsibambi, a second half substitute was the hero on the day scoring the only goal of the game in the fourth minute of the five added minutes.

Mike Mutebi named an attack minded on the day with Muzamiru Mutyaba, Allan Okello, Brian Majwega, Paul Mucureezi and Geoffrey Sserunkuma all starting.

The move seemed risky but proved to be right as the Kasasiro dominated proceedings and created a couple of chances especially in the first half but without a breakthrough.

Mucureezi effort inside seven minutes hit the post while Sserunkuma was denied by a last ditch tackle from Farid ElMarghany who was immense for the visitors.

But after holding on to end the first half even, El Masry had a better show in the second half in terms of going forward although the hosts remained the dominant side.

Mutebi made changes withdrawing Okello for Ivan Ntege, Mutyaba for Nsibambi and later Robert Ssentongo for man of the moment Sserunkuma who had been denied space and time on the ball by the brilliant Egyptian backline and their good goalkeeper, Ahmed Abdelhalim.

Hossam Hassan, their coach also had to make two forced changes before top scorer, Ahmed Gomma was pulled off for Herman Koukao.

KCCA won a free kick a few metres off the centre line and Benjamin Ochan ball beat the defence and Nsibambi raced to it and fired a low shot past Abdelhalim to send the home fans into frenzy.

The results means KCCA now only need a draw over the next seven days to reach the group stages but can also afford a loss of a goal margin but still advance.

KCCA XI: Benjamin Ochan (GK), Denis Rukundo, Denis Okot ©, Paul Musamali, Isaac Muleme, Tom Masiko, Muzamiru Mutyaba (Derrick Nsibambi), Brian Majwega, Paul Mucureezi, Allan Okello (Ivan Ntege) and Geoffrey Sserunkuma (Robert Ssentongo)

Unused substitutes

Charles Lukwago (GK), Isaac Kirabira), Lawrence Bukenya and Mustafa Kizza

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *