Cameroon Afcon 2019 qualifiers 

Group L results

Cape Verde 3-0 Tanzania

Uganda 3-0 Lesotho

Next fixtures

November 16: Uganda vs Cape Verde

March 22, 2019: Tanzania vs Uganda

Emmanuel Okwi was the star as  Uganda Cranes regained control of Group L in the Afcon 2019 qualifiers with a commanding 3-0 win over Lesotho at Mandela National Stadium on Saturday evening.

The result moved coach Sebastien Desabre’s side to seven points from three games, three ahead of Cape Verde at the halfway stage of the campaign.

Cape Verde had temporarily assumed table leadership on goal difference following their 3-0 thrashing of Tanzania a day earlier.

Okwi was instrumental in all three goals, settling early nerves with a fine individual goal.

Starting out wide on the right, the striker was allowed time to cut in before beating goalkeeper Mohau Kuenane with a fine left drive on 11 minutes.

The Cranes then had a minor scare when the impressive Tumelo Khutlang forced a diving save from captain Dennis Onyango in goal after Godfrey Walusimbi lost possession.

But the Cranes doubled their lead on 35 minutes when Okwi danced his way into the box before being felled by Basia Makepe in the 18-yard box.

Faruku Miya stepped up to coolly convert the resultant penalty to the goalkeeper’s left.

The visitors improved slightly in the second half but the Cranes underlined their supremacy with the third and Okwi’ s second just after the hour mark.

The impressive Moses Waiswa released Edrisa Lubega on the left, who crossed for Okwi to head home.

The Cranes left for Maseru less than 24 hours after the match with a real chance of sealing qualification on Tuesday when the two face off again in the return leg.

Uganda XI: Denis Onyango, Godfrey Walusimbi, Nicholas Wadada, Hassan Wasswa, Denis Iguma, Khalid Aucho, Moses Waiswa (Isaac Muleme 84), Faruku Miya, Joseph Ochaya (Sadam Juma 58), Emmanuel Okwi, Edrisa Lubega (Patrick Kaddu 70)

Unused substitutes: Jamal Salim, Charles Lukwago, Isaac Isinde, Taddeo Lwanga, Allan Kateregga, Derrick Nsibambi, Milton Karisa, Allan Kyambadde

Lesotho XI: Mohau Kuenane (G.K), Mafa Moremoholo (Captain), Basia Makepe, Tsoarelo Bereng, Neris Hlompho Kalake, Tsepo Toloane, Sera Motebang, Jane Thaba Ntso, Tumelo Khutlang, Nkau Lerotholi, Mabuti Potloane

Substitutes: Likano Mputhi (G.K), Samuel Khetsekile (G.K), Kapano Tseka, Tsotleho Paul Jane, Setho Moshoeshoe, Thabo Seakhoa, Masoabi Synous Nkoto


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *