Paul Mucureezi

Moses Basena has named Uganda Cranes final squad for the FIFA 2018 World Cup qualifier against Congo Brazzaville with thirteen Azam Uganda Premier League players. 

The 20-man squad has three goalkeepers, seven defenders, six midfielders and four forwards.

Denis Onyango, the team captain alongside Watenga and KCCA’s Benjamin Ochan are the three goalkeepers.

No surprises in defence with Murushid Jjuuko, Isaac Isinde and Timothy Awany part of the defence together with fullbacks Nicholas Wadada, Denis Iguma, Godfrey Walusimbi and Isaac Muleme.

SC Villa’s Allan Kyambadde makes the cut among midfielders and is joined by among others Paul Mucureezi, Muzamiru Mutyaba and Egypt based Hassan Wasswa Mawanda among others.

Former KCCA striker Geoffrey Sserunkuma leads the forwards with normal faces in the league’s leading scorer Nelson Ssenkatuka, Derrick Nsibambi and Milton Karisa all in the squad.

Uganda Cranes aim to complete the campaign on a high while the Red Devils seek their first and only win of the qualifiers in group E.

Egypt already topped the group and will be one of Africa’s five representatives at the World Cup in Russia.

The Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango, Isma Watenga and Benjamin Ochan

Defenders: Nicholas Wadada, Denis Iguma, Godfrey Walusimbi, Isaac Muleme, Isaac Isinde, Murushid Jjuuko and Timothy Awany.

Midfielders: Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Bernard Muwanga, Allan Kyambadde, Tom Masiko, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Paul Mucureezi

Forwards: Milton Karisa, Nelson Senkatuka, Derrick Nsibambi and Geoffrey Sserunkuma.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *