Uganda Cranes and their coach Micho Sredojevic joined goalkeeper Dennis Onyango as the latest to be nominated for Glo-Caf Awards due in January.

The Cranes are nominated for the 2016 Team of the Year Award, while Micho is in the running for Coach of the Year.

“(It is the) biggest honour in 16 years I have wholeheartedly been serving African football,” Micho wrote on his Twitter handle @MichoCoach.

Micho is up against Florent Ibenge, who helped DR Congo to the Chan title, Pitso Mosimane – Champions League winner with Mamelodi Sundowns, Nacer Sandjak and Nigeria national women’s team tactician Florence Omagbemi.

Sandjak got Algerian outfit MO Bejaia to the Caf Confederations Cup final while Omagbemi guided her side to their eighth Africa women’s cup title.

Micho led Uganda to the 2017 Total Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) for the first time in 39 years and the Cranes are also in the group stage of the 2018 Fifa World Cup qualifiers.

The other teams nominated include; DR Congo, winners of the 2016 Chan Cup – where Uganda failed to make it past the group stage, Nigeria’s U-23 – Olympic bronze medalists, Senegal and Afcon finals debutants Guinea Bissau.

Uganda’s first choice goalkeeper Onyango was already on the shortlist of the Caf Player of the Year based in Africa Award.

Onyango is up against three Mamelodi Sundowns’ teammates Keegan Dolly, Khama Billiat and Hlompho Kekana, and TP Mazembe’s Rainford Kalaba. The Ugandan was a stand-out for Cranes with four clean sheets enroute to Gabon

The other categories nominated include the best player in from outside Africa, best women’s player, most promising talent, youth player of the year, referee of the year, club of the year coach and women’s national team of the year.

The winners will be decided by votes from the Caf technical and development, Media Committees and a panel of 20 experts (Journalists, TV consultants).

Winners will be announced at the Glo-Caf Awards Gala scheduled for January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *