The 2022/23 StarTimes Uganda Premier League champions, Vipers SC,  edged Police 1-0 in the Stanbic Uganda Cup final on Saturday to complete their first ever double.

Milton Karisa’s header from Bright Anukani’s corner kick in the 15th minute was enough for the Venoms to celebrate their historic feat in a match played at the Akii Bua Stadium.

Fresh from defending their league title – also for the first time, Vipers now join SC Villa, Express and KCCA as the only Ugandan clubs to win a major domestic double.

Despite their struggles in the last two decades, Uganda’s most successful club, Villa, remain the top dogs in this elite group having won the most league and cup doubles. 

The Jogoos have won six doubles in 1986, 1988, 1989, 1998, 2000 and 2002. Express (1995), KCCA (2017) and Vipers (2023) have done it only once, each.

This was also Vipers coach Alex Isabirye’s third Uganda Cup title having earlier won it with URA, Victoria university and BUL. Saturday’s feat was also Vipers third Uganda Cup success.  

Isabirye also joins Polly Ouma (Villa), Geoff Hudson (British – Villa), Jimmy Muguwa (Express), Paul Hasule (Villa), Micho Sredojevic (Serb – Villa) and Mike Mutebi (KCCA) as the only coaches to win a Ugandan major double.

Vipers’ Fabien Mutombora was voted the best goalkeeper of the tournament, while Police midfielder Missi Diego Semugera took honours in his role. 

Ashraf Mandela of Vipers SC earned plaudits for best defender, while Soltilo Bright Stars striker, Emmanuel Loki, is the tournament top scorer with five goals.

In addition to the trophy, Vipers walked away with UGX 50,000,000 for the winning team while the runners-up, Police, earned half of that.


Police FC Line Up

Starting XI: Davis Mutebi (GK), Joseph Yawe Ssentume (C), Timothy Muwanguzi, Herman Wasswa Nteza, Samuel Kayongo, Emmanuel Mugume, Martin Owalamu, Tonny Kiwalazi, Dennis Kalanzi, Reagan Stephen Male, George Kiryowa

Substitutes: Jackson Ssemugabi, Missi Diego Semugera, Nsereko Abdul, Hassan Kikoyo, Daniel Jakony, Sammon Oloka, Aliyu Ahmed Danjuma

Head coach: Angelo Lonyesi 


Vipers SC Line Up

Starting XI: Fabien Mutombora (GK), Milton Karisa (C), Siraje Ssentamu, Bright Anukani, Abubaker Lawal, Junior Yunus Sentamu, Hillary Panuel Mukundane, Ashraf Mandela, Isa Mubiru, Abdulkarim Watambala, Rogers Ochaki Torach

Substitutes: Dissan Galiwango, Ibrahim Orit, Martin Kizza, Cromwel Rwothomio, Karim Ndugwa, Denis Kiggundu, Nzau Miguel Lutumba

Head coach: Alex Musongola Isabirye 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *